Peterborough Power and Sail Squadron

Safe Boating Instruction in the Kawarthas Since 1959

AGM and Dinner May 4, 2013

Photos supplied by Gina Lee, Susan Mellow, and Elsie Scott

Squadron Commander Jim Lee and Secretary Gina Lee enjoy a moment prior to the AGM.
Secretary Gina Lee shows the CPS-ECP 75th Anniversary Flag provided to all Squadrons and Districts across Canada.

Squadron Commander Jim Lee conducts the AGM along with Secretary Gina Lee.
CPS-ECP National Administrative Officer and Past Squadron Commander Catherine McLeod chairs the Change of Watch and then pledges new Squadron Commander Leigh Mellow.
Now Past Commander Jim Lee presents Leigh with his name tag and Commander's flag.
Quinte District Training Officer and Past Squadron Commander Jack Scott (standing in for Quinte Distrtict Commander Dale Holland) pledges the rest of the Bridge.
New Squadron Commander Leigh Mellow takes over the AGM.

Some of those attending the AGM included Past Squadron Secretary Anne Ainsworth, new member and new Assitant Social Officer Elizabeth Burchell, new member and new Assistant Training Officer John Burchell, Squadron Historian and Seamanship Course Director Mel Little, Past Squadron Secretary Joyce Litte, Catherine McLeod, and Past Squadron Commander Gary Ainsworth.

Merit Marks are awarded to those who volunteer for CPS-ECP more than 20 hours in any calendar year. Upon receiving a 20th Merit Mark each member becomes a Life Member and receives a special plaque, a large quilted CPS-ECP flag with gold edging on the maple leaf, a 20 year Longevity Pin, and a letter of congratulations from the Chief Commander.
Peterborough Power and Sail Squadron Reglia Officer and Past Squadron Commander Chris McMahon was presented with his at the AGM

Some of the Other Merit Mark presentations are shown below however this does not include everyone who was awarded the honour.
In cases of earning a five, 10 or 15 year Merit Mark recipients also received a CPS-ECP pin with a tab indicating the number of years

Jim Lee and Gina Lee

Karen Morgan

Elsie Scott

Susan Mellow

Nick Cliteur

Joyce Little

Leigh Mellow

Jack Scott

Mel Little

Len McVeigh

Bill Barthorpe

Catherine McLeod

New Commander Leigh Mellow presented officer flags to Nick Cliteur and Peter Chappell.

Everyone enjoyed the AGM Dinner with Past Commander Jim Lee hosting
Following dinner the Boating Course Graduates
Tony Hill, Elizabeth Burchell, and John Burchell were presented with their certificates and joined the Squadron.

Members of Lindsay Power & Sail Squadron held their AGM immediately following the Peterborough AGM
and then joined everyone for dinner (three photos below).

Squadron members Marti and Chris Tertinek from Sodus Point New York drove up to attend the AGM and dinner.
They are members of Red Jacket Squadron in the United States (a Squadron many Peterborough members belong to as well).